nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government   North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
 North Dakota Department of Commerce
 1600 E. Century Ave. Suite 2
 Bismarck, ND 58503
commerce department secondary header
top of menu background
spacer graphic
spacer graphicStarting a Businessspacer graphicRelocating or Expandingspacer graphicTechnical Assistance
spacer graphic
spacer graphicHome
spacer graphicAvailable Property
spacer graphicBusiness Climate
spacer graphicAmbassadors
spacer graphicSite Selector
spacer graphicData Center
spacer graphicWorkforce
spacer graphicIncentives



Click Here for the Governor's Choice Nomination Form




Contact: Julie Fedorchak



Governor Welcomes Nominations for Economic Development Awards


BISMARCK, N.D.Nominations are now open for the sixth annual Governor’s Choice for Economic Development awards. The North Dakota Department of Commerce sponsors this program. Five award winners will receive recognition and $1,000 earmarked for an economic development association of choice.


"North Dakota has created nearly 2,100 new businesses and 25,000 new jobs since 2000, reflecting a healthy, expanding economy," Gov. John Hoeven said. "The Governor’s Choice Awards provide an opportunity to recognize leaders in business and economic development throughout the state who are leading the way to grow North Dakota."

Nominations are open in five awards categories: Professional Developer of the Year, Volunteer Developer of the Year, Project of the Year, Ambassador of the Year and Innovator of the Year.


The winners will be recognized at an Oct. 23 banquet in Fargo that will be held in conjunction with the fall meeting of the Economic Development Association of North Dakota.


The nomination process is simple and forms are available online at www.growingnd.com under Quick Links. The nomination deadline is Aug. 31.


Last year’s award recipients were:

Professional Developer of the Year: Gene Veeder, McKenzie County Job Development Authority

Volunteer Developer of the Year: Randy Hauck, Verendrye Electric

Project of the Year: Blue Flint Ethanol, Underwood/Washburn

Ambassador of the Year: Hal Gershman, Happy Harry’s Bottle Shops, Road King Inn and Gershman Enterprises

Innovator of the Year: Al Christianson, Great River Energy

Visionary of the Year (special award): Elaine Fremling, Fargo


For more information, contact Tracy Finneman at the North Dakota Department of Commerce, 328-5352 or [email protected].


Contact UsPrivacySecurityW3C AAW3C CSSW3C HTML