nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government   North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
 North Dakota Department of Commerce
 1600 E. Century Ave. Suite 2
 Bismarck, ND 58503
commerce department secondary header
top of menu background
spacer graphic
spacer graphicStarting a Business?spacer graphicRelocating or Expanding?spacer graphicNeed Assistance?
spacer graphic
spacer graphicHome
spacer graphicNews Center
spacer graphicData Center
spacer graphicQuick Facts
spacer graphicMaps of ND
spacer graphicAmbassadors
spacer graphicCommerce Dept
spacer graphicContact Us


Contact: Pamela Trhlik, North Dakota Department of Commerce
701-328-5371 or [email protected]

Nominations Open for Governors Choice for Economic Development Awards

Bismarck, N.D. – Nominations are now open for the fifth annual Governor’s Choice Economic Development awards. The North Dakota Department of Commerce sponsors this program, with five special award winners receiving recognition. This year, winning entries will also receive a $1,000 prize earmarked for an economic development association of choice.

“Hundreds of people in North Dakota are committed to growth and economic development through work, volunteer positions and entrepreneurial spirit,” said Gov. John Hoeven. “The Governor’s Choice awards program was created to recognize individual commitments and celebrate large-scale economic development projects that are changing the face of business within the state.”

Five awards will be given this year: Professional Developer of the Year, Volunteer Developer of the Year, Project of the Year, Ambassador of the Year, plus a new category of Innovator of the Year.

Last year’s award recipients were:
Professional Developer of the Year: Connie Ova of Jamestown/Stutsman Development Corporation in Jamestown
Volunteer Developer of the Year: Kathleen Gaddie of Ryan Chevrolet, Ryan GMC and Ryan Auto Sales in Minot
Project of the Year: Cirrus Design Corporation of Grand Forks
Ambassador of the Year: Mark Nisbet of Xcel Energy in Fargo
Visionary of the Year (special award): Lee Peterson, First Commissioner of the North Dakota Department of Commerce

The 2006 winners will be announced at a Dec. 5 banquet in conjunction with the winter meeting of the Economic Development Association of North Dakota at the Seven Seas Inn of Mandan.

Nomination forms are available below. The nomination deadline for the 2006 awards is Wednesday, October 18. For more information contact Pamela Trhlik at the North Dakota Department of Commerce at 701-328-5371.

Click here for a copy of the Governor's Choice Nomination Form.


PrivacySecurityW3C AAW3C CSSW3C HTML